Minister of State for Law and Justice

The Ministry of Law and Justice of the Government of India is a Cabinet ministry responsible for the administration of legal affairs, legislative activity and the administration of justice in India through its three departments, namely the Legislative Department and the Department of Legal Affairs and the Department of Justice. respectively. The Department of Legal Affairs is responsible for advising the various ministries of central government, while the Legislative Department participates in the drafting of key legislation for the central government. The Ministry is headed by the Minister of Law and Justice, Kiren Rijiju, who is appointed by the President of India on the recommendation of the Prime Minister of India. [1] [2] The first Minister of Justice of independent India was Dr. B. R. Ambedkar, who served in the cabinet of Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru in 1947/51. The Ministry of Justice and Justice is the oldest part of the Indian government dating back to 1833, when the Charter Act 1833 was passed by the British Parliament when India was under British control.

For the first time, the Act conferred legislative authority on a single authority, namely the Governor General in Council. Under this power and the authority conferred on him by section 22 of the Indian Councils Act, 1861, the Governor General of the Council enacted laws for the country from 1834 to 1920. Following the enactment of the Government of India Act, 1919, legislative power was exercised by the Indian Legislature, which was constituted under that Act. The Government of India Act 1919 was followed by the Government of India Act 1935. With the enactment of the Indian Independence Act 1947, India became a “Dominion” and the Dominion Legislature enacted laws from 1947 to 1949 under the provisions of Section 100 of the Government of India Act 1935, as amended by the India (Provisional Constitution) Order 1947. When the Constitution of India came into force on January 26, 1950, legislative power was then transferred to the Indian Parliament. [1] Dominic was Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union from July to November 2018. The legal department has two main tasks: advice and litigation. [4] Specifically, the Ministry will be assigned the following functions:[5] New Law The Central Board of Direct Taxation (CBDT) is part of the Revenue Department within the Ministry of Finance of the Government of India. [24] The CBDT provides essential inputs for direct tax policy and planning in India and is also responsible for the administration of direct tax laws by the Income Tax Department.

The CBDT is a statutory body that operates under the Central Revenue Board Act 1963.It is the official entity of India`s FATF. The Central Board of Revenue, the central body of the Ministry responsible for tax administration, was established as a result of the Central Revenue Board Act 1924. Initially, the board of directors was responsible for direct and indirect taxes. However, when the administration of taxes became too cumbersome for a single council, the council was split into two parts, namely the Central Board of Direct Taxes and the Central Board of Excise and Customs, with effect from 1 January 1964. This ramification was caused by the formation of two councils u/s 3 of the Central Boards of Revenue Act 1963. Dominic subsequently worked at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office between 2000 and 2006 on a range of issues from investor protection to war crimes policy. From 12 June 2017 to 9 January 2018, he was Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice. Dominic was Parliamentary Secretary of State (Minister for Human Rights) at the Ministry of Justice from 2015 to 2016. The Indian Government (Distribution of Cases) Rules 1961 include the various departments under the Ministry of Law and Justice of the Government of India.

With respect to these rules, the Ministry comprises the following departments:[3] Dominic began his career as a business lawyer with the municipal law firm Linklaters and worked in the areas of project finance, international litigation and competition law. He was also an MP for Liberty (the human rights NGO) and Brussels, where he advised EU and WTO law. Previously, it was 9. From January 2018 to 9 July 2018, Secretary of State for Housing at the Department of Housing, Municipalities and Local Government. Dominic was educated at Dr. Challoner`s Grammar School and studied law at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford and for a master`s degree at Cambridge, where he won the Clive Parry Prize for International Law. The Department of Law and Justice is an advisory body that provides legal and constitutional services to all federal and state government offices. Read more The main secretariat of the department is located in New Delhi. It also maintains branch secretariats in the cities of Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and Bangalore. [4] The Legislative Department is primarily concerned with the drafting of all laws of importance to the central government, namely: bills to be introduced in Parliament, regulations promulgated by the President, measures adopted as acts of the President for states under the President`s rule, and regulations promulgated by the President for Union Territories. It also deals with electoral laws, namely the Representation of the People Act of 1950 and the Representation of the People Act of 1951. In addition, it is also responsible for dealing with certain issues relating to List III of the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution, such as human rights, contractual evidence, etc.

The Department is also responsible for updating legislation passed by Parliament. The rules for the assignment of activities specify the following functions to be performed by this department[5]: A bill to protect individuals against invasion of their privacy through the processing of personal data. Provision should be made for procedures. In May 2010, he was first elected as the Conservative Member of Parliament for Esher and Walton. Dominic Raab was appointed Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice on 25 October 2022. He previously held the same position between September 15, 2021 and September 6, 2022. The Ministry of Justice carries out the administrative functions related to the appointment of various judges to different courts in India, maintaining and revising the conditions and rules governing the service of judges and other related areas. Business rules specify the following functions to be performed by this department:[5]